Home / World / Canada imposes new sanctions against Russia

Canada imposes new sanctions against Russia

The Government of Canada has introduced new sanctions against Russia, which relate to the officials of the Russian Federation, militants, and some companies, including Rosneft.

Canada imposes new sanctions against Russia

New sanctions against Russia, imposed by the government of Canada, were applied to 37 individuals and 17 organizations, Joinfo.ua reports quoting Prime Minister Stephen Harper.

Canada's sanctions list includes Joseph Kobzon, Dmitry Kiselyov and Sergey Chemezov. Also the country imposed a ban on entry to its territory for the State Duma deputy Valery Rashkin, deputy chief of the General Staff Andrew Kartapolov, biker Aleksandr Zaldostanov and others.

Most of the sanctions list includes the leaders and participants of the DPR and LPR organizations, as well as self-appointed leaders of the self-constituted "Ministries". Among the banned individuals there is a political representative of the LPR in the Minsk Contact Group Vladislav Dainego. The economic restrictions also affected the corporation Rosneft.

In some ways the list echoes recent EU sanctions, which came into effect on Monday. Thus, it also includes the names of Kobzon, Rashkin and Kartapolov. In addition, the sanctions were imposed against two deputies of the Russian Minister of Defense.

It should be recalled that the other day the European Union imposed new sanctions against Russia, expanding the list of persons to whom the restrictive measures were imposed in connection with the conflict in the Donbas.

Thus, the "black list" includes Deputy Defense Minister Anatoly Antonov, Russian State Duma deputy Joseph Kobzon, State Duma deputy from the Moscow Communist Party Valery Rashkin cell and two other Russians.